Xiaomi has recently rolled out its latest iteration of the MIUI a couple of weeks ago. The latest version, i.e. the MIUI 9 is based on Android Nougat on top of a heavily loaded Android skin. Now, the latest version in the form of a global beta is said to be rolling out in stages.

MIUI 9 is rolling out with Redmi Note 4, Redmi Note 4X, and the Mi 6 as of now. If you own any of these devices, you might already have got a notification to update your device.

In case you have not received the notification, you can download the update from Xiaomi’s official website.

Xiaomi seems to be acting pretty quick this time in rolling out the updates as the second batch of potential candidates for MIUI 9 is already out. Mi MIX, Mi Note 2, Mi 5, Mi 5s, Mi 5s Plus, Mi Max 2, Mi Max, Redmi 4/4X are the devices which will be receiving the MIUI 9 update pretty soon. There is, however, no official news as to when the update will start pushing out.

What’s new in the MIUI 9 update?

Way faster app launching speeds and transitions, all new animations and app icons, a native split-screen mode, better battery optimization standards are some of the features which are included in the MIUI 9 update.

Here is a list of the changelog which Xiaomi has officially provided on their website:

  • Deep-level system optimizations (08-07)
  • New icons (08-07)
  • New animations for launching and exiting apps (08-07)
  • Simpler Home screen editing (08-07)
  • Introducing Split screen (08-07)
  • Improved Silent mode triggered by the volume button (08-07)
  • Improved readability for the start page of Messaging (08-07)
  • Search for apps in the dual apps settings (08-03)

If you can not wait for the OTA update of the MIUI 9, you can head to the official thread of Xiaomi’s forum and download the update from there. You should, however, note that you need to manually flash the ROM. It is, therefore, important that you know how to unlock your bootloader as it will be a prerequisite.

Also Read:

What are your thoughts about the latest update by Xiaomi? Do let us know in the comments section below.